giving thanks

This past Thursday was Thanksgiving.  It was at least 80 degrees and sunny here.  I ate spaghetti for lunch and went to my last class of the semester, and afterwards, to El Oasis for the last worship night of the year.   Although it didn’t feel like Thanksgiving in the traditional turkey-eating sense, it was probably one of the better ones I’ve had.  I have a lot to be thankful for this year.

The opportunity to be here right now.

Families.  For my Chilean family, who has made my experience here incredible beyond words.  For my real family, who has kept on loving me from thousands of miles away.

Friends.  For being there for me this year.   For tucking notes in suitcase and sending me off with sweet memories.  For the friends I’ve made here in Chile.  You’ve been truly amazing.

I count the community I found at El Oasis among my blessings.  Today I celebrated Thanksgiving with them, turkey, pumpkin pie, and all!

And a few more things I’m thankful for:

My nana, who irons almost all my clothes…including my pajamas.  It’s been a once-in-a-life-time experience.

My crazy cat, who scales the windows outside my bedroom and never ceases to entertain/amaze me.

For the bathrooms here in Chile that have toilet paper, soap, AND hand dryers.  Few and far between, but when I find one, I always give thanks.

And finally, for my backpack, which has earned the name “super-mochila” (thank you, Trini), holds everything, has traveled two 2 South American countries, and is soon to see a 3rd – I leave for Peru on Thursday!

One thought on “giving thanks

  1. I love your blog and I love you and am thankful for you Tess! You’ve had such an amazing adventure – you’ll probably never have spaghetti on Thanksgiving again 🙂

Leave a Reply

