pack, unpack, repeat

Pack.  Unpack.  Repeat.

That’s the update from my life in Chile!  I’ve been out of Santiago 4 out of the past 5 weekends.

1. Mendoza, Argentina with 3 American friends.

Brita and I, at Parque San Martín

Nona and I, wine tasting

Katie and I, at Parque San Martín

2. Santiago, my weekend at home!

3. Temuco/Puerto Saavedra, with my study abroad program.

At a bilingual (Spanish/Mapudungun- the language of the indigenous Mapuche people) school, making s'mores with the kids

Laying cement at the bilingual school

At the beach in Puerto Saavedra

The beautiful green countryside of southern Chile. It's so green because it rains a lot, but we were lucky enough to have sunshine the entire weekend!

4. Laguna Verde (my grandparents’ house on the Pacific Ocean, literally), with my family (pictures to come!).

5. And finally, this past weekend I went on a retreat with the Christian college group that I attend.

The women's soccer team. We played "fútbol flamenco" (aka flamingo soccer), where the men have to hop around on one foot, while the women play with both.

Playing a trivia game. Lots of laughter.

The whole group!

With all of my traveling, I’ve really been feeling the study abroad “time warp” (as my friend Nona calls it) in the past few weeks.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with this concept, it is a distortion of your sense of the passing of time, seasons, etc. that happens on study abroad.  There were 3 national holidays in the month of October, so the long weekends, although nice, definitely threw me off (sidenote: there are A LOT of national holidays here.  I think I’ve had at least 5 or 6 days off of school…)  Additionally, it is about 80 degrees here now, however, there are Christmas decorations in the grocery stores and Starbucks is advertising their “winter” drinks (even thought it is summer here).  For a Michigander, this is a very strange feeling…

Hope to be back blogging a bit more in the next few weeks.  Abrazos a todos!

One thought on “pack, unpack, repeat

  1. You lucky girl! What a life! I bet this “time warp” is weird, to be traveling so much, have warm weather, and simultaneously know in your head that it’s November and soon you will return to snow, ice, and Christmas shopping.
    I’m guessing there’s no Thanksgiving celebration in Chile?!?! That will be weird, too!
    Miss you my friend, love your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

