a quick hi and goodbye

Life here in Santiago has been so good.  It’s springtime and the weather’s getting warmer.  It was sunny and 75 this weekend.  I spent Saturday at a park about an hour outside of Santiago with my study abroad program.  We had an “asado” (Chilean equivalent of a cookout) and learned how to dance the cueca (the national dance).

Me and Nona

dancing the cueca!

On Saturday night I got to play big sister, as my parents went to a wedding and left Trini and Vicho home with me.  We rode bikes, went out for ice cream, and made birthday cards for my mom.  Sunday was my host mom’s birthday and we spent the day at her parent’s house here in Santiago, and had an asado there with all of her siblings and their families.
This weekend was just the beginning of a week that (I’m predicting) is going to be filled with asados (lots of eating and family time!).  Tomorrow morning I’m going on vacation with my family for a week.  First we’re going to San Carlos to stay with one of my mom’s cousins and then on to San Fabían to stay with a different cousin. Sunday is Chile’s Independence day and Monday is also a national holiday.  So, I’m leaving my computer at home, bringing my camera with, and will return next week Tuesday, hopefully with a larger Spanish vocabulary and lots of good stories. Hasta luego!
Leave a Reply

